Byrd era ends

WASHINGTON - MAY 20: U.S. Sen. Robert Byrd (D-WV) asks a question during a hearing before the Labor, Health and Human Services, Education, and Related Agencies Subcommittee of the Senate Appropriations Committee May 20, 2010 on Capitol Hill in Washington, DC. The hearing was to examine issues regarding the safety of coal mining. (Photo by Alex Wong/Getty Images)

Senator Robert C Byrd passed away on Monday at 3am in Falls Church, VA.  Mr. Byrd had been a senator not only for my entire life, but for the entire life span of my parents.  On the one hand I greatly admire the man, he came from nothing to be considered on of the most powerful men in the Democratic Party. I don’t just mean run of the mill nothing, I’m talking not even knowing your real name or birthday kind of nothing.  He used his position on the Appropriations Committee to infuse the state with greatly needed dollars.

On the other, retirement should have come 20 years ago. I’ll pretty much leave it at that, now is the time for some grieving and I’m sure plenty of people can put his life into perspective far more eloquently that I ever could.

So who fills those enormous size 14xxl shoes? It’s too soon to say, I don’t even know our process to replace a sitting senator, time for some research.

RIP Bobby, ya did pretty good for yourself.

Montani semper liberi

Washington Post

One Response to Byrd era ends

  1. Byrd era ends…

    I found your entry interesting do I’ve added a Trackback to it on my weblog :)…

Leave a Reply

