Some tips for the perfect Bison Burger

U.S. president Barack Obama and Russian Federation president Dmitry Medvedev (R to L, foreground) eat cheeseburgers at Ray's Hell Burger in Arlington, Virginia on June 24, 2010. Photo by Mikhail Klimentyev/ITar-Tass/ABACAPRESS.COM Photo via Newscom

I went to Kroger and got my buffalo today.  I gotta say that New Frontier makes some tasty bison.  Had the kid do all the manual labor and I cooked em up. There are a couple of things to remember when putting the buffalo to the flame.

I took a few hints from this great recipe, but stuck to my own plan. We seasoned the beef with some freshly ground black pepper and some garlic powder, mixed it all together and formed the patty’s. Buffalo is leaner and can dry out much more quickly, so I added vegetable oil to the top and bottom, which helps slow how much it dries during cooking. Another thing to note is that the burgers will reduce in size much more than a hamburger, so plan you bun sizes accordingly. A quarter pound of buffalo looks smaller than a quarter pound of beef. The key is to start with a high heat to do as much searing as you can, I don’t have any thermometers at my disposal so I started with the burgers directly over the coals for 3 min on each side. Then I placed them on the outer outside of the coals, and flipped every 4 min or so. They say buffalo is best at medium, but I’m a well done kind of guy. Placing it under lower heat kept the burgers nice and juicy. I gave things plenty of time about 20 min, made a small slice into one and saw they were a perfectly well done.

My daughter decided to call them “Big Buddies” because the flavor was big and they were her new best buddy. Big Buddies may become our new 4th tradition.

Leave a Reply

