Game Time: Coastal Carolina, what the hell is a Chanticleer?

A handler spits water at his rooster during a cockfight in the town of Osh, some 300 km (186 miles) southwest of the Kyrgyz capital of Bishkek, April 17, 2010. REUTERS/Denis Sinyakov (KYRGYZSTAN - Tags: ANIMALS SOCIETY)

It’s finally time for games that matter, well sort of. The Mountaineers first opponent is the Chanticleers of Coastal Carolina. The most obvious question, what the hell is a Chanticleer? According to Wikipedia, a Chanticleer is apparently a European rooster that appears in stories about Reynard the Antisemitic Fox. Ok, Rey didn’t start in 1872 as the antisemitic fox, but later Dutch iterations of the character in 1937 placed Reynard against evil Jewish rhinos of some sort.

Chanticleers is also a name given to a male vocal group founded in San Francisco in 1978. So this week its the West Virginia Mountaineers vs the Antisemitic Singing Roosters. Aren’t the leaps of logic one can make with Wikipedia grand?

As for a game preview, since no one is paying me, I just don’t feel like its worth my time and effort to come up with one. Its a game I wouldn’t even bother going to if I weren’t a fan of tailgating. In fact, I have no ticket and plan on hitting the lot with a crisp 20 to gain my admission, and I’m sure I’ll be overpaying as the game starts free tickets will likely be everywhere.

The Mountaineers should dominate every phase of game play, the defense will get a small test from a senior QB, but I don’t expect more than 14 points on the board from the Roosters against what should be WVU’s best D of this century. I’m curious to see the WVU offense, there is always some concern with a new signal caller. Geno has a touch of swagger and should have a fine game vs substandard competition.

I predict not much of a game, with WVU rolling 42-14. I’ll work harder on a game preview when WV plays a team in the FBS. No, I don’t think Marshall counts as FBS, but I can talk about how buffalo used to roam the West Virginia hills, those must have been delicious times.

Leave a Reply

